2016 PEN Faulkner Award Winner

The 2016 PEN/Faulkner award winner is James Hannaham for his novel Delicious Foods. Delicious Foods by James Hannaham "Delicious Foods is at once a sweeping American tale of race and exploitation, a darkly comedic thriller, and an intimate portrayal of a troubled mother and her damaged son. The narrative follows the lives of Darlene, a woman... Continue Reading →


2016 PEN Faulkner Finalists

The 2016 PEN Faulkner Award for Fiction finalists include five authors who I personally haven't heard of before so this is a nice opportunity to discover some new reading.  Here are the 2016 finalists: Delicious Foods by James Hannaham "Darlene, a young widow and mother devastated by the death of her husband, turns to drugs... Continue Reading →

2015 Pen Faulkner Fiction Award Winner

The winner of the 2015 Pen/Faulkner Award for Fiction is Atticus Lish for his novel Preparation for the Next Life.  In my post revealing the shortlist for this award in March I included the cover image of this book that the Pen/Faulkner Award are using but I went over to GoodReads to check this book... Continue Reading →

2015 PEN Faulkner Award Finalists

The Pen/Faulkner shortlist for 2015 was released on the 10th of this month.  The shortlist is made up of books quite distinct from one another.  You can read more about the shortlisted authors and their novels here. One book that has definitely been making waves with readers is Mandel's Station Eleven but you never know,... Continue Reading →

2014 PEN Faulkner Award for Fiction

The 2014 Pen/Faulkner Award for Fiction went to: Karen Joy Fowler We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves In the words of judge Manuel Muñoz, “This superb novel is not only comic and smart, it packs a surprising emotional punch. Fowler captures an altogether new dimension of themeaning and heartbreak of family dynamics.” Judge Madison Smartt... Continue Reading →

2011 PEN Faulkner Award for Fiction Winner

The winner of the 2011 Pen/Faulkner Award for Fiction is: The Collected Stories of Deborah Eisenberg by Deborah Eisenberg The honoured book, The Collected Stories of Deborah Eisenberg, brings together four volumes of Eisenberg's work: Transactions in a Foreign Currency, Under the 82nd Airborne, All Around Atlantis, and Twilight of the Superheroes, which was a... Continue Reading →

2010 PEN Faulkner Award for Fiction Winner

The winner of the PEN Faulkner Award for Fiction has been announced.  And the award goes to War Dances by Sherman Alexie. Take a look at what The Seattle Times had to say about War Dances: "War Dances" collects 23 stories, essays, poems and call-and-response sequences that examine themes of love, the hazards of love... Continue Reading →

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑