2016 NBCC Award Winner

Louise Erdrich has won the 2016 NBCC award for her novel La Rose.  Erdrich has won the award once before in 1984 for her highly acclaimed novel Love Medicine. La Rose by Louise Erdrich "Louise Erdrich starts her latest novel LaRose with an incident other, less assured novelists might work up to with some throat... Continue Reading →


2016 NBCC Award Finalists

The National Book Critics Circle has announced the finalists for the 2016 awards.  They have awarded the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award to Margaret Atwood.  The NBCC awards will be presented on the 16th March in New York.  I'm going to share the finalists for the Fiction category here but follow the above link to... Continue Reading →

2015 NBCC Fiction Award Winner

The 2015 NBCC fiction prize winner is Paul Beatty for his novel The Sellout.  On the BookCritics website Karen Long describes The Sellout: "Try reading the first paragraph of The Sellout aloud. Better still, in public. It begins “This may be hard to believe, coming from a black man, but I’ve never stolen anything” and... Continue Reading →

2015 NBCC Fiction Award Finalists

The 2015 NBCC Prize for Fiction Finalists have been released.  The Fates and the Furies by Lauren Groff makes another appearance on awards' shortlists for 2015.  Here is the full list of this year's contenders for the prize to be announced in March: The Sellout by Paul Beatty "A biting satire about a young man's isolated... Continue Reading →

2014 NBCC Fiction Award Winner

The 2014 NBCC Fiction Prize went to Marilynne Robinson for her novel Lila.  Lila is the third installment of Robinson's acclaimed Gilead series.  The first novel in the series, Gilead, also won the NBCC prize along with the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.  This series of novels is on my personal TBR list as I have... Continue Reading →

2014 NBCC Fiction Finalists

The NBCC finalists for the 2014 publishing year were announced in January and the winner will be announced on 12 March.  The list of finalists is an interesting one with all 5 novels looking very enticing.   For your perusal, here are the 5 fiction finalists for 2014: An Unnecessary Woman by Rabih Alameddine Aaliya Sohbi... Continue Reading →

2013 NBCC Fiction Award Winner

The 2013 winner of the NBCC Fiction Award is Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie for Americanah. NBCC board member Jane Ciabattari says: "With Americanah, which is at once a love story, an immigrant’s tale, and a socially acute snapshot of this chaotic moment in time, she nails the idiosyncracies of three cultures. We knew Adichie was wicked... Continue Reading →

2013 NBCC Award Finalists

The NBCC Award Finalists for the 2013 publishing year have been announced.  Here are the finalists for the Fiction category: Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie As teenagers in a Lagos secondary school, Ifemelu and Obinze fall in love. Their Nigeria is under military dictatorship, and people are leaving the country if they can. Ifemelu—beautiful, self-assured—departs... Continue Reading →

2012 NBCC Award Finalists

The NBCC Awards Ceremony will be held on the 28th of February 2013.  Here are the Fiction Finalists for the NBCC Awards: Laurent Binet, HHhH (Farrar, Straus and Giroux). Translated from the French by Sam Taylor. Binet lives in Paris, where he teaches French literature at the University of Paris III. He is the author... Continue Reading →

2010 NBCC Fiction Award Winner

The 2010 NBCC Fiction Award Winner: A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan “A novel at once experimental in form and crystal clear in the overlapping stories it delivers, offering us a sense of youth and what gets lost along the way.”  (NBCC Announces Award Winners) Below, I’ve included a couple of excerpts... Continue Reading →

2010 NBCC Award Finalists

The 2010 National Book Critics’ Circle Award Shortlist was released on Saturday and there are a few of books we’ve seen doing well throughout the year.  The winners will be announced at a ceremony in March. Fiction Shortlist 2010   A Visit From The Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan Freedom by Jonathan Franzen To The... Continue Reading →

2009 NBCC Award Winner

The 2009 National Book Critics Circle Award goes to Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel.  This historical novel claimed last year's Man Booker Prize and although I have not read it myself I believe it must be an incredible read.  In the month leading up to the NBCC award winner announcement, Critical Mass (the official NBCC... Continue Reading →

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑