2016 NBCC Award Winner

Louise Erdrich has won the 2016 NBCC award for her novel La Rose.  Erdrich has won the award once before in 1984 for her highly acclaimed novel Love Medicine. La Rose by Louise Erdrich "Louise Erdrich starts her latest novel LaRose with an incident other, less assured novelists might work up to with some throat... Continue Reading →


2015 NBCC Fiction Award Winner

The 2015 NBCC fiction prize winner is Paul Beatty for his novel The Sellout.  On the BookCritics website Karen Long describes The Sellout: "Try reading the first paragraph of The Sellout aloud. Better still, in public. It begins “This may be hard to believe, coming from a black man, but I’ve never stolen anything” and... Continue Reading →

2014 NBCC Fiction Award Winner

The 2014 NBCC Fiction Prize went to Marilynne Robinson for her novel Lila.  Lila is the third installment of Robinson's acclaimed Gilead series.  The first novel in the series, Gilead, also won the NBCC prize along with the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.  This series of novels is on my personal TBR list as I have... Continue Reading →

2013 NBCC Fiction Award Winner

The 2013 winner of the NBCC Fiction Award is Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie for Americanah. NBCC board member Jane Ciabattari says: "With Americanah, which is at once a love story, an immigrant’s tale, and a socially acute snapshot of this chaotic moment in time, she nails the idiosyncracies of three cultures. We knew Adichie was wicked... Continue Reading →

2010 NBCC Fiction Award Winner

The 2010 NBCC Fiction Award Winner: A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan “A novel at once experimental in form and crystal clear in the overlapping stories it delivers, offering us a sense of youth and what gets lost along the way.”  (NBCC Announces Award Winners) Below, I’ve included a couple of excerpts... Continue Reading →

2009 NBCC Award Winner

The 2009 National Book Critics Circle Award goes to Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel.  This historical novel claimed last year's Man Booker Prize and although I have not read it myself I believe it must be an incredible read.  In the month leading up to the NBCC award winner announcement, Critical Mass (the official NBCC... Continue Reading →

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑