2017 Man Booker Prize Winner

George Saunders has won the 2017 Man Booker Prize for his first novel, Lincoln in the Bardo.  You may remember Saunders, known for his short story writing, for his story collection Tenth of December which was a 2013 National Book Award Finalist. 2017 Chair of judges, Lola Young, explains why they chose Saunders' novel: "The... Continue Reading →


2017 Man Booker Prize Shortlist

The 2017 Man Booker Longlist has been whittled down to the six books shortlisted for this year's prize.  Have you been reading the Man Booker Longlist? If you've read any of these, what did you think? The Man Booker Prize winner will be announced on the 17th October. 4 3 2 1 by Paul Auster... Continue Reading →

2016 Man Booker Prize Winner

This year's Man Booker prize went to The Sellout by Paul Beatty.  Beatty's novel also won the NBCC fiction prize earlier this year and he is the first American author to win the Man Booker prize since US authors became eligible in 2014. The 2016 Chair of judges, Amanda Foreman, commented that: ‘The Sellout is... Continue Reading →

2016 Man Booker Prize Shortlist

The 2016 Man Booker Prize Shortlist is out!  We have already seen one of the shortlisted books win the 2015 NBCC Fiction Prize earlier this year and the only previously Man Booker shortlisted author on the list this year is Deborah Levy (Swimming Home).  The shortlist looks packed with interesting reads. Chair of Judges, Amanda... Continue Reading →

2015 Man Booker Prize Winner

 A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James Michael Wood, the Chair of judges, commented: ‘This book is startling in its range of voices and registers, running from the patois of the street posse to The Book of Revelation. It is a representation of political times and places, from the CIA intervention in Jamaica... Continue Reading →

2015 Man Booker Shortlist

The Man Booker shortlist for 2015 has been released.  I can't imagine it was easy narrowing down the longlist because it was brimming with promise this year. Michael Wood, Chair of Judges, commented on the task of making the selections: "Only on rare occasions does celebration come so closely aligned with regret. The regret of... Continue Reading →

The 2015 Man Booker Longlist

The highly anticipated Man Booker magic is upon us!  Last week the 2015 Longlist was released and there are so many wonderful entries.  This year's selection has many books of interest to me personally and anyone who reads the longlist before the prize is awarded is in for some spectacular reading.   Here is the 2015... Continue Reading →

2014 Man Booker Prize Winner

The 2014 Man Booker Prize went to Tasmanian born Richard Flanagan for The Narrow Road to the Deep North. What the judges had to say: AC Grayling comments: ‘The two great themes from the origin of literature are love and war: this is a magnificent novel of love and war. Written in prose of extraordinary... Continue Reading →

2014 Man Booker Prize Shortlist

It's an exciting time of the year when the Man Booker prize shortlist is released.  Today is that day! "Two authors have previously appeared on the prize shortlist. Howard Jacobson is a former winner of the prize, with The Finkler Question, in 2010. Ali Smith has been shortlisted twice before, with The Accidental (2005) and... Continue Reading →

2013 Man Booker Prize Winner

The winner of this year's Man Booker Prize is The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton. A bit about the novel from the Man Booker site: "The Luminaries, set in 1866 during the New Zealand gold rush, contains a group of 12 men gathered for a meeting in a hotel and a traveller who stumbles into their... Continue Reading →

2013 Man Booker Shortlist

From the Man Booker Judges: The six books on the list could not be more diverse. There are examples from novelists from New Zealand, England, Canada, Ireland and Zimbabwe – each with its own highly distinctive taste. They range in size from the 832 pages of Eleanor Catton's The Luminaries to the 104-page The Testament... Continue Reading →

2012 Man Booker Prize Winner

From the author that brought us the 2009 Man Booker Prize winning Wolf Hall comes the sequel to the Thomas Cromwell featured story, Bringing Up the Bodies.  This sequel, Bringing Up the Bodies, has won the 2012 prize making Hilary Mantel the 3rd author to have won the Man Booker Prize twice.  She is, however,... Continue Reading →

2010 Man Booker Prize Winner

The 2010 Man Booker Award ceremony was held last night at London’s Guildhall and it was Howard Jacobson who won the the Booker prize for his novel The Finkler Question beating out favourite Tom McCarthy. Jacobson has been longlisted for the Booker prize twice before.  Once for his work Who’s Sorry Now in 2002 and... Continue Reading →

2010 Man Booker Shortlist

The 2010 Man Booker shortlist has been released and six authors are in the running for the prestigious Man Booker prize.  The 2010 Man Booker Prize winner is set to be announced on Tuesday the 12th of October at London’s Guildhall.  Two days before the winners are announced, 10 October 2010, the shortlisted authors will... Continue Reading →

2010 Man Booker Dozen Longlist

On 27 July the 2010 Man Booker Prize judges released the dozen longlist.  The shortlist is set to be released on 7 September and the winner will be announced on 12 October at a dinner at London’s Guildhall.  The 2010 longlist for this prestigious prize includes a diverse selection of literary work some of whose... Continue Reading →

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑