2017 Man Booker Prize Winner

George Saunders has won the 2017 Man Booker Prize for his first novel, Lincoln in the Bardo.  You may remember Saunders, known for his short story writing, for his story collection Tenth of December which was a 2013 National Book Award Finalist. 2017 Chair of judges, Lola Young, explains why they chose Saunders' novel: "The... Continue Reading →


2016 Man Booker Prize Winner

This year's Man Booker prize went to The Sellout by Paul Beatty.  Beatty's novel also won the NBCC fiction prize earlier this year and he is the first American author to win the Man Booker prize since US authors became eligible in 2014. The 2016 Chair of judges, Amanda Foreman, commented that: ‘The Sellout is... Continue Reading →

2015 Man Booker Prize Winner

 A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James Michael Wood, the Chair of judges, commented: ‘This book is startling in its range of voices and registers, running from the patois of the street posse to The Book of Revelation. It is a representation of political times and places, from the CIA intervention in Jamaica... Continue Reading →

2014 Man Booker Prize Winner

The 2014 Man Booker Prize went to Tasmanian born Richard Flanagan for The Narrow Road to the Deep North. What the judges had to say: AC Grayling comments: ‘The two great themes from the origin of literature are love and war: this is a magnificent novel of love and war. Written in prose of extraordinary... Continue Reading →

2013 Man Booker Prize Winner

The winner of this year's Man Booker Prize is The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton. A bit about the novel from the Man Booker site: "The Luminaries, set in 1866 during the New Zealand gold rush, contains a group of 12 men gathered for a meeting in a hotel and a traveller who stumbles into their... Continue Reading →

2012 Man Booker Prize Winner

From the author that brought us the 2009 Man Booker Prize winning Wolf Hall comes the sequel to the Thomas Cromwell featured story, Bringing Up the Bodies.  This sequel, Bringing Up the Bodies, has won the 2012 prize making Hilary Mantel the 3rd author to have won the Man Booker Prize twice.  She is, however,... Continue Reading →

2010 Man Booker Prize Winner

The 2010 Man Booker Award ceremony was held last night at London’s Guildhall and it was Howard Jacobson who won the the Booker prize for his novel The Finkler Question beating out favourite Tom McCarthy. Jacobson has been longlisted for the Booker prize twice before.  Once for his work Who’s Sorry Now in 2002 and... Continue Reading →

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑