2016 NBCC Award Winner

Louise Erdrich has won the 2016 NBCC award for her novel La Rose.  Erdrich has won the award once before in 1984 for her highly acclaimed novel Love Medicine. La Rose by Louise Erdrich "Louise Erdrich starts her latest novel LaRose with an incident other, less assured novelists might work up to with some throat... Continue Reading →


2016 NBCC Award Finalists

The National Book Critics Circle has announced the finalists for the 2016 awards.  They have awarded the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award to Margaret Atwood.  The NBCC awards will be presented on the 16th March in New York.  I'm going to share the finalists for the Fiction category here but follow the above link to... Continue Reading →

TBR Chronicles #05

Last month (May) was a slow month for my TBR so I decided to wait until I had a post-worthy amount of books to talk about.  Over the years of writing this blog I've noticed that come mid-year my reading verve dies down a bit.  I have no idea why this happens but it's a... Continue Reading →

Review: Love Medicine by Louise Erdrich

Love Medicine is Louise Erdrich's first novel published in 1984.  It won her the National Book Critics Circle Award that same year.  The novel is highly acclaimed and features on a number of prominent university's literature reading lists. Here is the blurb from GoodReads: "The stunning first novel in Louise Erdrich's Native American series, Love... Continue Reading →

2012 National Book Award Winner

The 2012 National Book Award for Fiction was awarded to: Louise Erdrich’s The Round House The Round House, named Book of the Year by Amazon, is set on a Native American reservation for the Ojibwe people in North Dakota in 1988 and follows the investigations of 13 year old Joe as he seeks the truth... Continue Reading →

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑