2016 Bram Stoker Award for Best Novel

The Bram Stoker Awards are awarded every year by the Horror Writers Association to writers of horror and dark fantasy.  This year the award for Best Novel went to John Langan. The Fisherman by John Langan "In upstate New York, in the woods around Woodstock, Dutchman’s Creek flows out of the Ashokan Reservoir. Steep-banked, fast-moving,... Continue Reading →


Review: The City of Mirrors by Justin Cronin

The City of Mirrors by Justin Cronin is the long awaited final novel of The Passage trilogy.  This epic literary journey began with The Passage followed by The Twelve and now, after a 3 year wait (or 4 years if you read The Twelve right when it was published), draws to a close with a... Continue Reading →

2013 Bram Stoker Awards

The 2013 Bram Stoker Award for Novel went to: Doctor Sleep by Stephen King Stephen King returns to the characters and territory of one of his most popular novels ever, The Shining, in this instantly riveting novel about the now middle-aged Dan Torrance (the boy protagonist of The Shining) and the very special twelve-year-old girl... Continue Reading →

Joe Hill’s Favourite Horror Villains

Joe Hill, author of NOS4A2, lists his favourite horror villains.  We love a good bad guy so I thought I'd share this list with you but first here's a bit more about Hill's novel: NOS4A2 by Joe Hill "Victoria McQueen has a secret gift for finding things: a misplaced bracelet, a missing photograph, answers to... Continue Reading →

Review: The Twelve by Justin Cronin

The Twelve is the 2nd novel of The Passage trilogy by Justin Cronin and an incredible follow up to the impressive first novel The Passage (read my review of The Passage)  When I read the first novel I was taken by the proportions of the story.  It spanned many decades and every character would play... Continue Reading →

2010 Bram Stoker Award Winners

The World Horror Convention was held over the weekend in Brighton and the 2010 Bram Stoker Award Winners were announced. Best Novel: Audrey's Door by Sarah Langan Best First Novel: Damnable by Hank Schwaeble Save

Review: Justin Cronin’s The Passage

“It happened fast. Thirty-two minutes for one world to die, another to be born.”  Epic.  I don’t use this word lightly when refering to books but Justin Cronin’s The Passage is epic in every sense of the word.  An incredible work skilfully dealing with decades and decades of events which tumble together to form a... Continue Reading →

2009 Bram Stoker Award Winners

The Horror Writers' Association announced the 2009 Bram Stoker Award winners at the Stoker Banquet on 27 March 2010 in Brighton (UK).  This is the first time the stokers have been presented outside of the North American continent.  They were awarded within 8 categories; Superior Achievement in a Novel, a First Novel, Long Fiction, Short... Continue Reading →

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑