2016 Etisalat Prize Shortlist

The 2016 Etisalat Prize for Literature Shortlist is out and brings us 3 novels from the African continent.  This year two Nigerians and one South African are vying for the prize. The Seed Thief by Jacqui L'Ange "Sometimes the thing you find is not the one you were looking for. When botanist Maddy Bellani is... Continue Reading →


2015 Etisalat Literature Prize Shortlist

At the end of last year the Etisalat Prize for Literature released their 2015 longlist which Professor Ato Quayson describes: “The range of submissions for the Etisalat Prize this represents the vitality of literary writing on the continent, and the longlist is a selective showcase of the best to be found. The subjects covered in... Continue Reading →

2014 Etisalat Literature Prize Winner

I'm very happy to share with you that Songeziwe Mahlangu won the 2014 Etisalat Prize for Literature for his novel Penumbra.  Mahlangu was my pick for winner of the prize not only because he is a fellow South African but more importantly because his book sounds so good. Have a quick look at the blurb... Continue Reading →

2014 Etisalat Prize Shortlist

Three African novels have been selected for the shortlist of the 2014 Etisalat Prize for Literature and I am proud to see two of the three novelists are South Africans; Nadia Davids and Songeziwe Mahlangu, together with Nigerian Chinelo Okparanta. “From a strong long list we are now delighted to announce this year’s shortlist which... Continue Reading →

2013 Etisalat Prize Winner

On Sunday night the inaugural Etisalat Prize for Literature held their winner announcement ceremony and the winner is: We Need New Names by Noviolet Bulawayo Darling is only ten years old, and yet she must navigate a fragile and violent world. In Zimbabwe, Darling and her friends steal guavas, try to get the baby out... Continue Reading →

2013 Etisalat Prize for Literature Shortlist

This year is the inaugural prize for the Etisalat Prize for Literature.  It is the first Pan-African literary prize created to recognize and reward debut fiction writers in Africa.  The winner will receive a £15,000 cheque.  The shortlist was released on 22 January after a retreat in Morocco where the judges narrowed down the prize finalists. (official... Continue Reading →

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑