2017 Edgar Award Winners

The Mystery Writers of America have selected the best in the mystery fiction and non fiction genre with the announcement of the 2017 Edgar Award winners. Best Novel - Before the Fall by Noah Hawley "On a foggy summer night, eleven people--ten privileged, one down-on-his-luck painter--depart Martha's Vineyard headed for New York. Sixteen minutes later,... Continue Reading →


Review: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

I'm pretty sure that by now there is not a bookworm in the blogosphere that hasn't heard of Paula Hawkins' debut novel The Girl on the Train.  Many have read and reviewed her book already and I'm not just jumping on the bandwagon here because for those interested in crime genre novels the blurb is... Continue Reading →

Review: Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

Let me start by sharing the blurb of Dark Places with you: Libby Day was just seven years old when her evidence put her fifteen-year-old brother behind bars.  Since then, she has been drifting. But when she is contacted by a group who are convinced of Ben's innocence, Libby starts to ask questions she never... Continue Reading →

Review: Parade by Shuichi Yoshida

I was lucky enough to have been granted a copy of Parade from NetGalley.  I picked this book because the description piqued my interest. Four twenty-somethings share an apartment in Tokyo. In Parade each tells their story: their lives, their hopes and fears, their loves, their secrets.  Kotomi waits by the phone for a boyfriend... Continue Reading →

2013 CWA Dagger Winners

The 2013 CWA Daggers were awarded last night and here are the winners: The CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger went to Mick Herron for Dead Lions The Judges described his book as “…a well written, wickedly clever send-up of the classic British spy novel featuring a shadowy department in M15, home to various spooks who have... Continue Reading →

2010 CWA Dagger Awards

The Crime Writers’ Association has awarded the 2010 Daggers. CWA Chairman Tom Harper said: “In a year of intense competition, these three books represent the very best of the genre. It's particularly satisfying to see Belinda Bauer, runner-up for the CWA Debut Dagger award for unpublished authors two years ago, now scooping the biggest prize... Continue Reading →

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑