2013 Costa Book of the Year

The 2013 Costa Book of the Year Award goes to The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer who wins the overall prize and a cheque for £30,000. Following the judging, Rose Tremain CBE, chair of the final judges, said: “This book stood out in a very good list. The voice in which the author has... Continue Reading →


2013 Costa Book Award Winners

Costa First Novel Award Winner: The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer What it's about:  The Shock of the Fall tells the story of Matthew and Simon, two brothers who are separated yet united by a tragic accident. Exploring themes of loss, grief and mental illness, this extraordinary novel transports the reader directly into... Continue Reading →

2013 Costa Awards Shortlist

The Costa Award Shortlist was released last night and here are the entries in the First Novel and Novel categories.  Click the images to read more on GoodReads. First Novel Award Shortlist Idiopathy by Sam Byers Katherine has given up trying to be happy. Thirty, stuck in a job and a town she hates, her... Continue Reading →

2010 Costa Book Awards

The 2010 Costa Book Award Winners: Costa Novel Award The Hand That First Held Mine by Maggie O'Farrell Judges: "A book of grand themes and intimate moments. This gripping novel is the one we'd unreservedly recommend." Publishers’ Weekly Review: O’Farrell (The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox ) interweaves two seemingly unconnected stories—that of Lexie Sinclair,... Continue Reading →

2010 Costa Book Award Shortlist

The 2010 Costa Book Awards Shortlist Costa First Novel Award Witness the Night by Kishwar Desai In a small town in the heart of India, a young girl, barely alive, is found in a sprawling home where thirteen people lie dead.  The girl has been beaten and abused.  She is held in the local prison,... Continue Reading →

2009 Costa Book of the Year Winner

The 2009 Costa Book of the Year was awarded to Christopher Reid for his poetry collection; A Scattering. A Scattering is said to be a poetic tribute to Reid's late wife, Lucinda Gane who passed in 2005. The Costa Book Awards Press Release had this to say about the award winner's work: "Following the judging,... Continue Reading →

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑