2016 Bram Stoker Award for Best Novel

The Bram Stoker Awards are awarded every year by the Horror Writers Association to writers of horror and dark fantasy.  This year the award for Best Novel went to John Langan.

The Fisherman by John Langan

The Fisherman by John LanganIn upstate New York, in the woods around Woodstock, Dutchman’s Creek flows out of the Ashokan Reservoir. Steep-banked, fast-moving, it offers the promise of fine fishing, and of something more, a possibility too fantastic to be true. When Abe and Dan, two widowers who have found solace in each other’s company and a shared passion for fishing, hear rumors of the Creek, and what might be found there, the remedy to both their losses, they dismiss it as just another fish story. Soon, though, the men find themselves drawn into a tale as deep and old as the Reservoir. It’s a tale of dark pacts, of long-buried secrets, and of a mysterious figure known as Der Fisher: the Fisherman. It will bring Abe and Dan face to face with all that they have lost, and with the price they must pay to regain it.  (GoodReads)

There are a number of other Bram Stoker Award categories, if you’re interested you can have a look at the rest of the 2016 winners here.




2013 Bram Stoker Awards

The 2013 Bram Stoker Award for Novel went to:

Doctor Sleep by Stephen King

Stephen King returns to the characters and territory of one of his most popular novels ever, The Shining, in this instantlyDoctor Sleep (The Shining, #2) riveting novel about the now middle-aged Dan Torrance (the boy protagonist of The Shining) and the very special twelve-year-old girl he must save from a tribe of murderous paranormals.  On highways across America, a tribe of people called The True Knot travel in search of sustenance. They look harmless—mostly old, lots of polyester, and married to their RVs. But as Dan Torrance knows, and spunky twelve-year-old Abra Stone learns, The True Knot are quasi-immortal, living off the “steam” that children with the “shining” produce when they are slowly tortured to death.  Haunted by the inhabitants of the Overlook Hotel where he spent one horrific childhood year, Dan has been drifting for decades, desperate to shed his father’s legacy of despair, alcoholism, and violence. Finally, he settles in a New Hampshire town, an AA community that sustains him, and a job at a nursing home where his remnant “shining” power provides the crucial final comfort to the dying. Aided by a prescient cat, he becomes “Doctor Sleep.”  Then Dan meets the evanescent Abra Stone, and it is her spectacular gift, the brightest shining ever seen, that reignites Dan’s own demons and summons him to a battle for Abra’s soul and survival. This is an epic war between good and evil, a gory, glorious story that will thrill the millions of devoted readers of The Shining and satisfy anyone new to the territory of this icon in the King canon. (read more on GoodReads)

The 2013 Bram Stoker Award for First Novel went to:

The Evolutionist by Rena Mason

At night, down-to-earth Las Vegas socialite, Stacy Troy, dreams that everyone is dead. Nosebleeds and head-splitting The Evolutionistalarms only she can hear become a regular occurrence. In her nightmares, Stacy dismembers bodies, stuffs them into a shopping cart, then takes them two at a time to the pile where she will burn them and say her last goodbyes.  Waking nightly to her own screams, Stacy is convinced she’s on the brink of a mid-life crisis and begins secretly seeing a psychiatrist. But as eerie as Dr. Light may be, his treatments work and her circumstances improve. Until the nightmares return with a vengeance taking on a life of their own. Still uncertain what to believe, Stacy carries on living the only life she remembers. But her other, nocturnal world refuses to die. The images it shows her hold clues that lead her to a shocking discovery, threatening to unravel the last thread of her sanity and Stacy must make a heartrending decision…Before her post-apocalyptic nightmares come true. (read more on GoodReads)


2010 Bram Stoker Award Winners

The World Horror Convention was held over the weekend in Brighton and the 2010 Bram Stoker Award Winners were announced.

Best Novel: Audrey’s Door by Sarah Langan

Best First Novel: Damnable by Hank Schwaeble


2009 Bram Stoker Award Winners

The Horror Writers’ Association announced the 2009 Bram Stoker Award winners at the Stoker Banquet on 27 March 2010 in Brighton (UK).  This is the first time the stokers have been presented outside of the North American continent.  They were awarded within 8 categories; Superior Achievement in a Novel, a First Novel, Long Fiction, Short Fiction, an Anthology, a Collection, Nonfiction, Poetry.

And here are the category winners:

Superior Achievement in a Novel
AUDREY’S DOOR by Sarah Langan

Superior Achievement in a First Novel
DAMNABLE by Hank Schwaeble

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction
“In the Porches of My Ears” by Norman Prentiss

Superior Achievement in an Anthology
HE IS LEGEND edited by Christopher Conlon

Superior Achievement in a Collection

Superior Achievement in Nonfiction

Superior Achievement in Poetry

For more information please visit the official blog: Horror Writers Association Announces 2009 Stoker Winners