Review: The Tao of Twitter by Mark Schaefer

This is the first book I have read about social media of any kind and I’m happy (and relieved) it was a good reading experience.  I suppose I was expecting a lot of jargon and details I wouldn’t understand let alone make use of.  The Tao of Twitter is a short and very useful book for everyone using Twitter, beginner or advanced user.  Whether you use Twitter for yourself, your blog, or for an organisation you will benefit from reading this book.the tao of twitter

If you’ve ever wondered what Twitter is all about and how to make the best use of it The Tao of Twitter has the very simple answers.  A lot of the information was reinforcement for me of a strategy I already use but there was also a great deal of clarification and ways to expand.

The most important takeaway for me as a blogger was to remember that Twitter isn’t a place where you can just broadcast your blog posts etc. it’s about connecting with people.  Getting the most out of Twitter involves following the 3 Taos of Twitter; connections, content, and helpfulness.

Schaefer is engaging and light in his explanations and there are many examples of real life stories of how Twitter works to help you get to grips with the power of Twitter and how to harness it for your own needs.  I highly recommend this book to Twitter users.

 

Save

Save

Published by

Verity M

Writer. Love Reading, Photography, Travel, & Life Design. I'm all about Curiosity & Creativity.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Tao of Twitter by Mark Schaefer”

  1. I am afraid I am guilty of just pushing my blog content and at the most some retweets, or share other people’s posts on Twitter. I hardly ever actively open and use it.

    1. I was doing the same thing. This book has opened my eyes a bit to its potential though. It’s a short, easy read so I recommend it just to see if Twitter is the channel you want to use.

Share Your Thoughts...

