TBR Chronicles #01

The CorrectionsThis month I added two books from my Friday Book Feature posts to my TBR.  The first one was The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen.  I’ve been meaning to read something by Franzen for a really long time and after doing some reading about The Corrections I thought why not start with the novel that made the All TIME 100 Novels list.  It’s won some book awards and has enthusiastic reviews so I’m hoping not to be disappointed especially since it is very long.  (GoodReads)

The Crying of Lot 49

The second book from the FBF was The Crying of Lot 49 by Thomas Pynchon.  Pynchon has multiple novels on the All TIME 100 Novels list and is included in a few university literature reading lists.  This book sounded particularly interesting if not a bit wacky which intrigues the hell out of me.  The reviews are a bit polarised so all in all I’m not too sure whether I’ll fall in with those who loved it or not although I do expect it’ll be entertaining.  (GoodReads)

PenumbraThe 2015 Etisalat Prize Shortlist was released this month and from it I’ve added Penumbra by Songeziwe Mahlangu to my TBR list.  He’s a South African author and I’m hoping for a win for him.  The blurb of this novel sounds great and it falls within one of my favourite genres – crime fiction.  (GoodReads)

What Galileo Saw: Imagining the Scientific Revolution

A fellow blogger, FictionFan, really enjoyed the non fiction book What Galileo Saw: Imagining the Scientific Revolution by Lawrence Lipking.  It takes a look at the scientific revolution of the 17th century going beyond the science and showing the interconnections of science, literature, and philosophy.  I’m expecting this to be very thought provoking.  (GoodReads)

The Reason I Jump: The Inner Voice of a Thirteen-Year-Old Boy with AutismAnother non fiction book that made it onto my TBR list this month I happened upon by chance.  I was looking at David Mitchell’s novels on GoodReads and noticed a book he’d done the translation of; The Reason I Jump: The Inner Voice of a Thirteen year old Boy with Autism by Naoki Higashida.  I am fascinated by the enigma that is Autism and what goes in the minds of these children.  This is a memoir which shows how the autistic mind thinks, feels, perceives, and responds.  I’m looking forward to this one.  (GoodReads)

Lila (Gilead, #3)

I first noticed Lila by Marilynne Robinson on the NYT best sellers list.  It’s been on there a few weeks and the novel has also made the NBCC finalists so I’m intrigued.  This novel is, however, the third in the Gilead series so I’ll probably have to start with the first two; Gilead, and then Home both of which are already on my TBR list.  (GoodReads)

A House for Mr BiswasAnd finally, my eye returns to a novel long since on my TBR list but which had sunk to the very bottom.  A House for Mr. Biswas by V S Naipaul.  101 Books did a post recently, A Fragrant of Forgotten Experience, in which he included an excerpt from the novel.  The passage was so beautiful I was newly inspired to read it. (GoodReads)

Save

Published by

Verity M

Writer. Love Reading, Photography, & Life Design. I'm all about Curiosity & Creativity.

One thought on “TBR Chronicles #01”

  1. Thanks for the link! 😀 I hope you enjoy ‘What Galileo Saw’ – it’s one of those books that has actually influenced the way I think about science and art, both in the period it covered and today.

    I’ll be interested to hear what you think of the VS Naipaul – one of these authors whose been on my radar for ever, and yet I’ve never got around tor reading any of his books. And I’ve been looking at Lila too, and also decided I’d better start with Gilead…

Share Your Thoughts...

