Review: The Furies by Mark Alpert

I requested this book from NetGalley because it sounded so interesting.  The prologue was a really good start to what turned out to be a really dreary read.

For centuries, the Furies have lived among us. Long ago they were called witches and massacred by the thousands. But they’re human just like us, except for a rare genetic mutation that they’ve hidden from the rest of the world for hundreds of years.  Now, a The Furies: A Thrillerchance encounter with a beautiful woman named Ariel has led John Rogers into the middle of a secret war among the Furies. Ariel needs John’s help in the battle between a rebellious faction of the clan and their elders. The grand prize in this war is a chance to remake the human race. (read more on GoodReads)

I am disappointed because my hopes were so high and I really was intrigued by this new approach to the story of witches.  What really let this book down straight away, in my opinion, was the dialogue.  It felt fake and cliched.  I found myself rolling my eyes on every page that had dialogue between Ariel and John because to me this relationship was just weird from the get go.  This book was also partly about the developing love between Ariel and John and I just couldn’t connect with it.  I was bored by it probably largely to the poor characterisation of these two.  There were plenty details about their lives but this is what I would say is an example of telling not showing in writing because the backstory was there but the characters themselves just didn’t come alive whether through their actions or the dialogue (which as I said was a low point for me).  I really wanted to like this book but the honest truth is I didn’t.  I even skimmed the last 100 pages to get to the end which I don’t normally do…and as it turns out reading as little as 3 or 4 lines of those skimmed pages I still didn’t miss anything.  Not one I recommend.

 

lilolia review rating 1 star disappointing

 

Published by

Verity M

Freelance Writer. Love Reading, Photography, & Life Design. I'm all about Curiosity & Creativity.

Share Your Thoughts...

