A Guide to Reading David Eddings’ Fantasy Series

David Eddings is a very famous American writer of high fantasy with a number of series under his belt.  Many of his books were written together with his wife, Leigh Eddings.  If you are planning to read Eddings for the first time here is the info to help you navigate reading the series in the best order accompanied by some nice maps.

A1 – Prequels to Belgariad & Malloreon:

  1. Belgarath the Sorcerer (1995)
  2. Polgara the Sorceress (1997)
  3. The Rivan Codex (1998)Belgariad & Malloreon Map david eddings

A2 – The Belgariad

  1. Pawn of Prophecy (1982)
  2. Queen of Sorcery (1982)
  3. Magician’s Gambit (1983)
  4. Castle of Wizardry (1984)
  5. Enchanters’ End Game (1984)

A3 – The Malloreon (sequel to the Belgariad)

  1. Guardians of the West (1987)
  2. King of the Murgos (1988)
  3. Demon Lord of Karanda (1988)Elenium Map david eddings
  4. Sorceress of Darshiva (1989)
  5. The Seeress of Kell (1991)

B1 – The Elenium 

  1. The Diamond Throne (1989)
  2. The Ruby Knight (1990)
  3. The Sapphire Rose (1991)Tamuli Map david eddings

B2 – The Tamuli (sequel to the Elenium)

  1. Domes of Fire (1992)
  2. The Shining Ones (1993)
  3. The Hidden City (1994)

C1 – The Dreamers

Dreamers Map david eddings

  1. The Elder Gods (2003)
  2. The Treasured One (2004)
  3. Crystal Gorge (2005)
  4. The Younger Gods (2006)

Eddings’ books were firm favourites in my house when I was growing up.  I haven’t read them yet myself but hopefully I’ll get to them in the near future.  Have you read any of these books?  Share your thoughts.




5 thoughts on “A Guide to Reading David Eddings’ Fantasy Series

Add yours

  1. The original map at the top, the one in color, where did you get that from? Is it from a cover of one of the books? I’m looking to get a full-size copy to blow up and possible frame.


    1. Hi Jared, if you click the image the link will take you to the wikia community page jpg of the map which is the source. It looks to me like the image may be a scan with a fuzzy area in the middle which makes me think it did come from a book but I can’t be sure. No idea where you could buy a poster but this image isn’t good enough to be blown up and framed…the detail will definitely be lost. Good luck and thanks for the visit!


  2. I’ve read all of the above. I’ve read the Belgariad and the Malloreon several times over the years and I still get lots of enjoyment from them. I wasn’t too keen on The Dreamers though.
    One book not mentioned that is well worth reading is The Redemption of Althalus


  3. I absolutely loved reading these when I was younger. My Mom would buy the book(s) read them and then tun them over to me. We both thought these books were worth hanging onto to reread and read again!! I came here in search of the proper order the books should be read, because I can not remember. Thank you for this information.
    ~Read on, Peeps~


Share Your Thoughts...

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: