2010 Man Booker Dozen Longlist

On 27 July the 2010 Man Booker Prize judges released the dozen longlist.  The shortlist is set to be released on 7 September and the winner will be announced on 12 October at a dinner at London’s Guildhall.  The 2010 longlist for this prestigious prize includes a diverse selection of literary work some of whose authors are definitely no strangers to this prize.  Here is a quote from the chair of judges which explains their feelings toward their selection.

The chair of judges, Andrew Motion, comments: “Here are thirteen exceptional novels – books we have chosen for their intrinsic quality, without reference to the past work of their authors. Wide-ranging in their geography and their concern, they tell powerful stories which make the familiar strange and cover an enormous range of history and feeling. We feel confident that they will provoke and entertain.”

From 138 books the following have been longlisted for the 2010 Man Booker Prize for Fiction:

Peter Carey for Parrot and Olivier in America

Emma Donoghue for Room

Helen Dunmore for The Betrayal

Damon Galgut for In a Strange Room

Howard Jacobson for The Finkler Question

Andrea Levy for The Long Song

Tom McCarthy for C

David Mitchell for The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet 

Lisa Moore for February

Paul Murray for Skippy Dies

Rose Tremain for Trespass

Christos Tsiolkas for The Slap

Alan Warner for The Stars in the Bright Sky





Share Your Thoughts...

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: