2009 LA Times Book Prize Winners

The 2009 Book Prize winners were announced in the 2010 ceremony on the 23rd of April 2010.  The LA Times award the Book Prize within various categories. Winner of the Best Fiction Book:

A Happy Marriage by Rafael Yglesias

“A courtship, long marriage, and then an agonizing death, becomes a heroic meditation on the unruly nature of love. The book alternates between past and present until two lives are fully seen. There’s no easy resolution here but rather an ennobling picture of lives lived over decades, in sickness and health, brought vibrantly to life.” –2009 Fiction Judges


Winner of the Best First Fiction Book:

American Rust by Philipp Meyer

“With deep compassion, the lives of two boyhood friends and their families are stripped bare in this first novel set in a dying steel town in Pennsylvania. In the bucolic landscape where ruined factories are stark reminders of the lack of opportunities, Philipp Meyer charts the aspirations, the failures, and the moral dilemmas his characters face as they’re drawn into an ever-strangling morass of murder and the confusions of class as their abiding loyalties are tested.” –2009 First Fiction Judges

To see the other category winners please follow the link: http://events.latimes.com/bookprizes/



Share Your Thoughts...

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: